SAFTA 2017 Winners

Posted on

The 11th South African Film and Television Awards, which took place from 16-18 March 2017 at Sun City, honoured the country’s finest industry professionals for the work they’ve done.

The 11th South African Film and Television Awards took place at Sun City this year, over two nights of absolute glitz and glamour. The show was televised on SABC 2, with the technical award winners of the industry announced on 16 March 2017, while the general awards took place on Saturday, 18 March 2017.

The award for Best Feature Film went to Sink, produced by Nostalgia Productions, Brittle Star Pictures and Scramble Productions, while Shoki Mokgapa also took home Best Actress – Feature Film for her performance in the film. Dann Jaques Mouton won Best Actor – Feature Film for his performance in    Noem My Skollie, while his colleague Abdurahgmaan Adams took home Best Supporting Actor for his role in the production. Best Achievement in Directing – Feature Film went to Oliver Schmitz for Shepherds and Butchers, while Hlubi Mboya bagged Best Supporting Actress – Feature Film for Dora’s Peace.

Best TV Soap/Telenovela went to The Road, produced by The Bomb Shelter. Who Project’s tale about Pieter-Dirk Uys, Nobody’s Died Laughing, took home Best Documentary Feature; and Heist Season 1 bagged two awards – Best TV Drama, and Best Achievement in Directing – TV Drama. High Rollers also took home awards for Best Achievement in Directing – TV Soap/Telenovela, which went to Joshua Rous, Alex Yazbek, Quentin Krog, Jozua Malherbe, Darryl Evan Fuchs, and Zimkhitha Maseko, while Antony Coleman won Best Actor – TV Soap/Telenovela for his portrayal of David in the show.

Continue reading this month’s Issue for the full list of : SAFTA 2017 winners:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Newsletter Subscription

Receive industry news, event and job listings.